Department of Geology

The Department of Geology started functioning in 1976 with B.Sc. Geology programme. The M.Sc. Geology programme was introduced in 1984 and it was inaugurated by Dr. Harsh K. Gupta, Eminent Geoscientist and the Leader of the third Indian Scientific Expedition to Antarctica. Late Prof. P. Krishnan Nair is the founder Professor of the department.

The department offers B.Sc. Geology program and M.Sc. Geology program. Admission and examinations are conducted as per the norms and regulations of the Mahatma Gandhi University. The sanctioned strength of the B.Sc. programme is 15 and that of the M.Sc. programme is 10. This is the sole department offering undergraduate and post-graduate programmes in Geology under Mahathma Gandhi University, Kottayam, Kerala. There are seven permanent faculty members in the Department, of whom three have doctoral degrees and the rest are pursuing their doctoral studies. Department has three smart class rooms, well equipped petrology, geochemistry, optical petrology and geomatics laboratories, “State of the art “Geology museum with rich and rare collection of minerals, rocks & fossils and a library. A research lab also functions in the department.

A funded research project on Petrology,Hydrogeology, Disaster management and Neotectonism as Dr Anto K Francis as Principal Investigator is sanctioned by KCSTE. The total outlay of the project is 27.5 lakhs. A collaborative research project of Dr K N Krishnakumar with International and Inter University centre of Resource Management tittled “Groundwater resource management in hard rock area” and project with Dr Anto Francis K titled” Isotopic techniqiues for the assessment of hydrological process and water quality issues of Vembanad wetland system South India” in association with Bhabha Atomic Research Centre are the highlights of the research activities of the department. The department offer consultancy in well sitting.

The department conducts innovative academic programmes Geoforum. ELSE ( E Learning Sessions in English), News at noon to improve the proficiency in English language and communication skills of students. The department offers “Orientation programmes for under graduate and Post graduate students” and “Bridge courses “to strengthen the knowledge base in the subject.

Most of our post graduate students get placement in organizations of national and international repute like Geological Survey of India (GSI), Central Groundwater Board (CGWB), Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC), Gas Authority of India (GAIL), Atomic Mineral Directorate (AMD), Coal India Limited, National Centre for Earth Science Studies (NCESS), International Oil drilling companies and various State Geology Organizations like Centre for Water Resource Development and Management (CWRDM), Groundwater Department and Mining & Geology Department. Some of our alumni are working as faculty in various educational institutions in India and abroad. In addition, a few others have distinguished themselves in other walks of life like Defense services, Kerala Police Service and other government departments.

Students aspiring to pursue their higher studies join various Indian and foreign universities and research institutes like the Australian National University, the Federation University Australia, the University of Wollongong, New South Wales Australia, the IIT’s, the Indian School of Mines and various central universities. The department regularly conducts seminars, exhibitions, workshops and invited talks for acquainting the students with the latest development in various fields of geology. The Department fulfils its social commitment by conducting extensional activities like geology exhibition (Geoex) and training/ workshop for school teachers. The official website of the department is and the department is publishing the newsletter Geostream every year.

Department Website

Website of the Department of Geology is


Academic Programmes

Programme Duration Qualification Sanctioned Strength
M Sc Geology 2 years B Sc Geology
B Sc Geology 3 years Higher secondary 15

Faculty Members

Name Designation e-mail
Dr. K N Krishnakumar (HOD) Associate professor
Sri. Dilipkumar P G Assistant professor
Sri. Anish A U Assistant professor
Dr. Anto Francis Assistant professor
Dr. Ajay K K Assistant professor
Sri. Suraj P R Assistant professor
Smt. Priya P N Assistant professor