Department of Economics

The Department of Economics offers two academic programmes, M A Economics and B A Economics. The department also offers complementary courses for students of Political Science stream. An open course is offered for students of all streams. The department is a Research Centre approved by Mahatma Gandhi University. Currently there are six research guides attached with the centre. Eleven Ph Ds have already been awarded and more are in progress. Most of the faculty members are actively engaged in research activities and the department regularly conducts seminars, workshops etc.


Academic Programmes

Programme Duration Qualification Sanctioned Strength
B A Economics 3 years Higher secondary
M A Economics 2 years B A/ B Sc degree 15

Faculty Members

Name Designation e-mail
Sri. M J Sunilkumar (On FDP) Associate professor
Sri. C D Cheriyan (HOD) Assistant professor
Smt. Rajelekshmi A Assistant professor  
Sri. Joby Joseph (On FDP) Assistant professor
Smt. Subha P P Assistant professor
Aravind R Assistant professor
Sri. Shibin Philip Assistant professor